Twelve Breaths, Seriously?

A new week and it began with my fifth Pilates class. I’m finding that my after-work Pilates class is making Mondays bearable. Mondays have turned brutal and it’s only going to get worse so having my Pilates class waiting for me at the end of the day gives me the strength to make it until 5pm.

When I got to class last night I admit that I was impatient. I wanted to get down to the mat and do my Hundreds (huh, I used to dread that one) and do some leg work (my favorite exercises) but our teacher had other plans. We started with a breathing exercise.

Inhale for a count of one, raising both arms slightly, exhale one breath and lower arms. Inhale for a count of two, raising both arms slightly higher, exhale one breath and lower arms. Inhale for a count of three, raising both arms slightly higher…you get the idea. We continued until we reached a count of twelve inhaled breaths. Half-way through I was like, “ugh, can we move this along?”

Well, the answer was obviously “no”. We continued until we reached twelve and by that time I was less stressed, more focused and prepared to fully engage my Pilates workout.

Lesson learned? Taking the time to breathe is a good thing to do even when we have a million things to do and a million thoughts are racing around in our head. You know that to-do list we all have? Lets add breathing to it and be sure to be fully present in the breath.

Debra

Leave a Reply

