New Obsessions

I thought I’d share with you two of my two newest obsessions. The first one came as a total surprise. That’s right, I never saw it coming until the moment I found myself reaching for the bag. Once I opened the bag it was all over. I have officially crossed over to the dark side.

021813 005

Starbucks. Dark Sumatra.

It all started innocently. My friend and co-worker, Betts, is a hardcore coffee drinker. The darker, the better. I’ve always been the lightweight but I graduated up to Colombian coffee a few months ago. When she makes a Starbucks run she gets me a Blonde and she gets the strongest coffee the coffee shop for herself. But they don’t sell Dark Sumatra. A couple of days later I was grocery shopping and I found the Dark Sumatra on the shelf and on sale and I remembered Betts disappointment so I picked her up a bag. You know, I was being a good friend.

I unpacked my groceries and I was tempted and not at all strong enough to resist. Figuring she wouldn’t mind if I scooped out a little bit, I made a cup of coffee. I didn’t know what to expect but I surely didn’t expect it to be the most satisfying cup of coffee I’ve ever had. Seriously, it was awesome. That was on a Saturday. I had another cup on Sunday. And then one on Monday. And I admit I was tempted to keep the bag…but I bought it for Betts. On Tuesday I gave her the bag. And she smiled a very satisfying smile when I told her that I too have come over to the dark side.

My other new obsession is Bare Naked cookies.

021813 003

Raisins, walnuts, cranberries and almonds. How can you go wrong with that? I like to have a little something with my tea at night but I find that cookies usually leave me craving more sweet. Not these cookies. They’re just the right balance. Not a soft cookie, but not a hard cookie, the cranberries and raisins are chewy and the nuts give it just the right amount of crunch and best of all, one cookie is enough.

021813 015

Do you have any new obsessions? New faves that you can’t imagine not having?

One thought on “New Obsessions

Leave a Reply

