Adapting

The one thing consistent about life is that things change. Sometimes the change is permanent, other times it is temporary. The key to continuing with your healthy living is to adapt to the circumstances that you have at any given moment.

With that said, I am adapting. Big time. But it’s only temporary. And I’m keeping my eyes wide open for the lessons that I should learn from the temporary changes in my life for this week and next week.

I haven’t worked out since last Thursday. It was a treadmill workout. I’m sure you can guess that by tonight I was a little crumpy and feeling a bit frumpy and considering wearing pants with elastic waistbands.

No need to worry, I didn’t wear pants with elastic waistbands.

Instead, I carved out 30 minutes this evening and hit the treadmill. But, I didn’t just walk. I alternated walking with some strength training.

My treadmill workout was as follows:

Warm-up/walk on a slight incline
12 squats
Walk, increased incline
Static lunges, 12 on each leg
Walk
12 dead lifts and 12 calf raises (each leg)
Walk
12 Plies
Cool down
Crunches
10 full body push-ups

Done. And I feel so much better. This workout didn’t come close to any of my regular workouts in regards to weight, speed or intensity but tonight it was just right.

I will continue to do this workout for the rest of the week and next week because I need to workout and because it’s better than doing nothing.

So, what do you do when life throws a monkey wrench into your workout schedule?

D

Leave a Reply

