More Than Just Breathing

Last night was my Pilates class. It’s been a couple of months since my last class due to scheduling issues. It felt great to be back and on the mat with Rose (the instructor). But I do have to say that during the first part of the class I was a little annoyed. The focus was on breathing.

We’ve all heard the saying “the pose/exercise that you like the least is the one you need the most”.

Did you hear that sigh?

That saying isn’t just an old wives tale or an urban legend. It’s a truth.

There are six essential principles to Pilates: Centering, Concentration, Control, Precision, Breath and Flow.

Pilates breathing focuses on deep inhales, complete exhales, and awareness of the body position and posture. I also found that it forced me to be in the moment. There wasn’t room for other thoughts – work, housework, writing, what’s for dinner. I also let go of the irritated thoughts I had and the question of when we’d move on to the other stuff, the fun stuff. It wasn’t until this morning I realized just how important those few minutes we spent on breathing really was.

When you do a workout, do you spend anytime on focused breathing? Or meditation?

D

2 thoughts on “More Than Just Breathing

  1. I think one of the things I want to incorporate into my workouts is a few moments of just breathing, either before or after. Maybe after, since I have such a short attention span and I’ll be exhausted so maybe I won’t mind just being in the moment. hahahaha.

Leave a Reply

