A Month of Workouts

Does this happen to you? You decide to keep track of your workouts, either on an elaborate spreadsheet or in a notebook or one of those fancy workout journals only to have it fall to the wayside? I’ve been there and I’ve abandoned the journaling in a matter of a couple of weeks (if that long). So there was some point where I figured this all logging/journaling/tracking wasn’t for me and figuring that I’m past 40 this was something that just wasn’t “me”.

Wrong.

I really needed to focus on my workouts and I needed to be to see what is or isn’t working. And in order to accomplish those things I needed to log my workouts.

Ugh.

I decided to stay positive. I can do this. I know I can. But I wasn’t going to create a spreadsheet, buy a notebook or get one of those journals. Nope, I was going simple – paper and pen. That’s it.

Guess what? It worked. Who knew?

I managed to record every workout since March 9th. And now I’m reading the list. In 31 days I took 8 rest days, I took 4 Pilates classes, I hit the treadmill for various lengths for 13 workouts and 3 strength workouts.

I see a trend. Lots of cardio sessions, very little strength workouts.

I don’t think that’s a good balance for me. But I’m proud of myself for 23 days and journaling them. So I’m taking a moment to celebrate this accomplishment before I begin thinking about the next 30 days.

Do you record your workouts to keep track? Do you review your past workouts and tweak based on your present fitness goals? Or do you just fly by the seat of your pants when it comes to your workouts?

3 thoughts on “A Month of Workouts

Leave a Reply

